Pat Shoulders named to the 2020 American Mock Trial Championships Steering Committee

Posted on Apr, 2 2018

Evansville will host the 2020 American Mock Trial Championships and will host talented students from across the country. A Steering Committee has been formed to prepare for the event and the Committee consists of many of our State’s best and brightest, including Pat Shoulders.  Pat is a constant contributor and supporter of the education of our youth and is a seasoned and talented litigator and appellate advocate.

Five ZSWS Attorneys have been named Super Lawyers or Rising Stars for 2017

Posted on Feb, 26 2018

Congratulations to ZSWS Partners Pat ShouldersDirck H StahlJean BlantonClay Havill, and Molly Briles for being recognized as Indiana Super Lawyers and Rising Stars among Indiana attorneys! Only 5 percent of the State’s lawyers are selected as Super Lawyers and only 2.5 percent of attorneys under age 40 are selected as Rising Stars.

Molly Briles receives the Pro Bono Publico award from the Indiana Bar Foundation

Posted on Nov, 7 2017

Molly Briles is one of southwest Indiana’s leading advocates for adults and children affected by violence and neglect. She provides direct services and leadership to ensure their safety. Molly created and administers a pro bono protective order project by recruiting attorney volunteers to handle referrals from local domestic violence shelters and setting up a system with the shelters to contact her anytime a resident or client needs legal representation at a protective order hearing. Since January 2015, Molly has logged more than 215 pro bono hours beyond what she’s done administering the protective order project. Molly will receive the award on December 10, 2017.

Representative Larry Buschon Celebrates Timothy J. Hubert as an Angels in Adoption Awardee

Posted on Aug, 31 2017

Washington, D.C. – Representative Larry Buschon will celebrate Timothy J. Hubert as a 2017 Angels in Adoption® awardee for his outstanding advocacy of adoption and foster care issues. The Congressional Coalition on Adoption Institute (CCAI), which orchestrates the Angels in Adoption® Program, will honor Timothy J. Hubert at an awards ceremony on September 26 and gala on September 27 in Washington, D.C.

Timothy J. Hubert is being honored for his work in the adoption arena, as it supports his belief in the importance of family. Mr. Hubert is a partner in the law firm of Ziemer, Stayman, Weitzel & Shoulders, LLP and is a Fellow of the American Academy Adoption Attorneys.  Over his legal career, which began in 1979, a significant part of his work has been focused on adoptions.  By his estimation, between one-third and one-half of his practice is adoption work.  Although he has done all types of adoption over the years, he has recently concentrated his work in completing Foster Parent adoptions of abandoned, abused and neglected children in and around southwestern Indiana.  Little brings more satisfaction than helping a family create a permanent, loving space for a child who has never known such a situation in his or her entire lifetime.  Mr. Hubert was also pleased to have been able to settle and finalize the adoptions of six orphans from Haiti in the wake of the 2010 earthquake there.

The Angels in Adoption® Program is CCAI’s signature public awareness event and provides an opportunity for all members of the U.S. Congress to honor the good work of their constituents who have enriched the lives of foster children and orphans in the United States and abroad. This year, more than 120 “Angels” are being honored through the Angels in Adoption®Program.

“The Angels in Adoption® Program is a unique annual opportunity in the nation’s Capital to shine a well-deserved spotlight on the power of adoption and the unspoken heroes who have made the dream of a family a reality for children. Since the program’s inception, over 2,600 Angels have come to Washington to share their firsthand adoption experiences with Members of Congress, highlighting its joys, as well as the barriers encountered in the process,” said Becky Weichhand, Executive Director at CCAI. “Members of Congress are then able to use their new experiential understanding of these issues to create policy improvements that better support these children and the families that open their hearts and homes to them.”

In addition to the more than 120 Angels from around the country, National Angels in Adoption® honorees will be recognized at the gala for their dedication and commitment nationally and internationally to child welfare on a grand scale. This year’s National Angels in Adoption® honoree is the Minnesota Vikings. Former National Angels include Korie and Willie Robertson, Shonda Rhimes, Deborra-Lee Furness Jackman, First Lady Laura Bush, Patti LaBelle, Jane Seymour, Muhammad AH, the late Dave Thomas, Steven Curtis Chapman, Bruce Willis, Alonzo Mourning, Rhea Perlman and Kristin Chenoweth.

CCAI is a 501(c)3 nonpartisan organization dedicated to raising awareness about the tens of thousands of orphans and foster children in the United States and the millions of orphans around the world in need of permanent, safe and loving homes through adoption.

CCAI was created in 2001 by the active co-chairs of the bicameral, bipartisan Congressional Coalition on Adoption, one of Congress’ premiere caucuses. The goal of the caucus is to eliminate policy barriers that hinder children from realizing their basic right of a family and more effectively raise Congressional and public awareness about adoption.

The Angels in Adoption® Program was established in 1999 as a Congressional press conference to honor outstanding individuals. Since then, the program has developed into a yearlong public awareness campaign, culminating in an extraordinary awards gala and celebration in Washington, D.C.

CCAI does not receive any government funding and relies on the generous support of foundations, corporations, and individuals to accomplish this mission. For more information, visit

Pat Shoulders Receives ICLEF’s Highest Honor

Posted on Aug, 22 2017

Attorney Patrick A. Shoulders has received the “Excellence in Continuing Legal Education” award from the Indiana Continuing Legal Education Forum.  The Evansville native received the award for his years of “active participation and work to enhance the quality and professionalism of continuing legal education in the State of Indiana.”

Accepting the award, Shoulders remarked that “it is an honor to share ideas and practices with other lawyers in an effort to improve the delivery of justice to the citizens of our state.” – Pat Shoulders Receives ICLEF’s Highest Honor